New Baby Card

Hi everyone! Today I wanted to share with you how I made this cute card for a dear friend of mine who is expecting her first baby using Hero Arts new Ombre Ink pads!  If you missed my post introducing these new ink pads, find it here.IMG_2218editedw


Here is a list of the materials I used (Please note that while I do receive compensation from Amazon for items bought through the following links, I never recommend products that I don’t use and love myself!  I was not asked by any of these companies to use their products or provide these links.):

I also used some other basic card making supplies, like a paper trimmer, foam tape, and adhesive.


I highly recommend this glass cutting mat. It's super easy to clean (even dried on glue), you can cut on it, and it has guidelines. I much prefer this mat to other silicone alternatives.
I highly recommend this glass cutting mat. It’s super easy to clean (even dried on glue), you can cut on it, and it has guidelines. I much prefer this mat to other silicone alternatives.

For this card I decided to use my ombre ink pad to make a background.  First I taped my 4.25″x5.5″ background piece to my glass cutting mat.  I taped the background to the mat so it wouldn’t move while I stamped my background images and also allowed me to draw guidelines where I wanted each stamp to go to ensure they were all evenly spaced.

To accomplish the ombre effect, I started in the middle of the background piece (where I marked “center” in the photo) and began with the medium color on my ombre ink pad.  I used my Belinda’s Border hash line stamp to make three horizontal rows using the lines on my mat as a guide.IMG_2194w  I repeated this process above the medium lines with the darkest color from the ink pad, and below with the lightest color from the ink pad.

IMG_2198w

I thought this was a fun way to create an ombre effect with the three colors separately.

IMG_2201wNext I stamped and colored my image.  I used my colored pencils for the inside of the oven and the bun, and I used my Copic markers for the outside of the oven.  I added three little dots to the cheeks with a white gel pen.  Next, I prepared the cardIMG_2199w base.  I took a standard A2 sized card and adhered some coordinating strips to the top and bottom. Then I adhered my background panel and oven to the card base.

For the sentiment I decided to do some embossing.  With the background and the image being so  bright and colorful, I didn’t want the sentiment to get lost.  I chose the slate gray embossing powder from Stampin’ Up.  IMG_2204wFor a finishing touch, I decided to decorate the inside of the the card using some selective inking.

I love the moon and stars on this mobile but didn't want to use the whole stamp.
I love the moon and stars on this mobile but didn’t want to use the whole stamp.

First I took the mobile stamp and maskIMG_2226wed off everything except for the moon with some washi tape. Then I inked up the stamp with blue ink and peeled away the washi tape.  This allows me to stamp only the moon image.  IMG_2228w

I repeated this process with the stars in some gold ink. This allowed me to make a custom image to finish up the inside of my card.

I hope you enjoyed this card, and thank you for visiting!

I am not affiliated with or compensated by Lawn Fawn, I just think their stuff is awesome!  For more information on Lawn Fawn and their adorable stamp sets, check out their website and blog.

3 thoughts on “New Baby Card

Leave a Reply

