Wood Die Cuts and Ombre Backgrounds

Welcome, welcome!  Today I have the next card in my little series featuring the new Hero Arts Ombre ink pads.  If you missed my post introducing these new ink pads, find it here.IMG_2269w If you missed my post introducing these ink pads, find it here.


Here is what I used to make this card (Please note that while I do receive compensation from Amazon for items bought through the following links, I never recommend products that I don’t use and love myself!  I was not asked by any of these companies to use their products or provide these links.):

For this card, instead of simply stamping an image in the ombre ink, I thought it would be fun to make a background using my ink blending tool.

IMG_2235wTo get started, I put a brand new foam pad on my blending tool to make sure I didn’t have any color transfer.  I will keep the foam pad with the ink pad for future uses.

Light circular motions will ensure a nice smooth blend.
Light circular motions will ensure a nice smooth blend.

To make the ombre background, I started by inking up my blending tool with only the lightest color on the ink pad.  I gently blended the color around and towards the middle of the background piece in circular motions.

I repeated this for the medium and the darkest colors.  The medium was a little more difficult because the color strip is much smaller than the blending tool.  The blending tool will pick up a bit of the other two colors, but that is okay because it will all blend together!

It may look splotchy now, but just wait until it dries!
It may look splotchy now, but just wait until it dries!

To finish up the background piece, I went over the whole thing one final time with the lightest color to blur the lines between the colors.

Notice how much smoother the background already looks after just a few minutes of drying.
Notice how much smoother the background already looks after just a few minutes of drying.

For the color scheme on this card, I decided to go with a yellow contrast.  I cut two strips from a tone on tone yellow pattered cardstock piece and adhered them to the front of my background piece.

I wanted to keep this card pretty causal so I decided to add some natural elements.  I chose to use some linen thread (very similar to hemp cording, just much “fuzzier”) and some wood.  Yes, wood.  Did you know you could die cut wood?  I got some very thin wood pieces from my local stamping store, but any thin piece of a softer wood like balsa would work just fine.  Treat it like you would any piece of card stock.  Put your die in place and run it through your die cut machine.  Easy peasy!  For mine, I used one of the oblong tags from the “Chalk Talk” set.

Next I made the sentiment.  I decided it would be fun to make this card using just die cuts.  IMG_2234wNo stamps!  I die cut two word bubbles.  I cut one from white cardstock, and one from yellow.  From the white I cut out the sentiment “HI” using my “Little Letters” die set.  First I lined the letters up on my cutting mat and used some washi tape to keep them in position and taped them to my word bubble.  To prevent the white from being too stark against the pretty background I added aIMG_2263w touch of color to the edge and blended it in towards the middle using my blending tool.  Then I adhered this to the front of the yellow word bubble.

Finally, I adhered the wood tag to the front of the card and tied the linen thread to the front of the card.  I adhered the word bubble to the front of the card with a little foam adhesive to give it a bit of dimension.

IMG_2267wI hope you enjoyed this card and thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Wood Die Cuts and Ombre Backgrounds

Leave a Reply

