Lawn Fawn Watercolor Card

Hello friends!  Today I have a super sparkly card to share with you.IMG_2475w I made this card for the Lawnscaping Challenge: Sparkle and Shine challenge.  The stamp set I used is Lawn Fawn‘s “Color My World”.  I have had this set for a while and had yet to use it, so this seemed like the perfect opportunity!

IMG_2463wI used a scrap piece of Pow Glitter Paper for the front of my card and different colors of solid scraps for my crayons.  I black heat embossed the crayon image onto the scraps and fussy cut them out.

I then used my yellow Derwent Inktense pencil to draw a very light outline of where I wanted my color splashes.  I used an Inktense pencil here because I wanted the line to fade away when I did my watercolor painting.  If I had used a regular lead pencil for the outlines, the lead would have become “trapped” under the paint and I would not have been able to erase it. IMG_2450w I didn’t want to be stuck with gray outlines.  Eek!

Finally I carefully painted in the different areas with my shimmer paints.  I made sure not to overlap any of the paint where the different colored areas met because I didn’t want the colors mixing.  The paints I used for this card are very inexpensive shimmer paints that I bought at my local paper crafting store, Impress.  You can find these paints here.

For the sentiment on the card, I just used the one that came with the set and heat embossed it in Liquid Platinum IMG_2493wembossing powder from Ranger.  I love this embossing power, it has a beautiful sheen but isn’t too over powering since I didn’t want to loose focus from my watercolor background.

To finish the card off and to make it extra sparkly, I went over the tips and ends of the crayon images with my clear Wink of Stella brush pen.  This made the images look like sparkly crayons wrapped in regular paper.

IMG_2447w IMG_2481w

Here are a few close-ups of the pretty sparkles! I love the look the Wink of Stella brush pens give without being so messy!  Quick and Easy.

I hope you guys liked this card and thank you so much for stopping by!

Here is a list of the materials I used to make this card. (Please note that while I do receive compensation from Amazon for items bought through the following links, I never recommend products that I don’t use and love myself!  I was not asked by Amazon or any of these companies to use their products or provide these links.):


Color My World Stamp Set

Inktense Pencils

Pow Glitter Paper

Ranger Liquid Platinum Embossing Powder

Tim Holtz Watercolor Paper

One thought on “Lawn Fawn Watercolor Card

Leave a comment