Getting to Know the Cricut Explore

Recently Cricut launched a “Getting to know Cricut Explore” campaign to help introduce people to the new machines in the Cricut family.  As one of Cricut’s blogging affiliates they have asked me to write a post to help introduce my readers to these machines as well.  Please note, that while I do receive compensation for product bought through the links included in this post, I only recommend products I use and love myself.
IMG_2415wThis is my Cricut Explore.  It is one of the three machines in the Cricut Explore family.  The two machines currently available in the Explore family (the Original that I have is no longer available) are the Cricut Explore Air™, and the Cricut Explore One™.  All of these machines have Cricut’s all new and improved cutting precision and smart set dial.  The biggest difference between these machines is the Cricut Explore Original and Air can cut and write.  The Air can do all this wirelessly.  Keep in mind that at the time of this posting, the wireless feature is only supported on Apple products.IMG_2421w

The Cricut Explore does take up quite a bit more desk space than my previous Cricut Mini, but it can cut images 4 times as big (from 6″ x 12″ on the mini to up to 12″ x 24″ on the Explore) so the larger footprint is worth it.  The Cricut Explore also must be connected to a computer or iPad to cut and write.  This wasn’t as issue for me since I usually connected my Mini to the computer anyway so I could see exactly how everything looked before it cut.IMG_2423w

Hands down my favorite feature of my Cricut Explore is the dual chambers on the cutting carriage, A and B.  The B clamp holds your cutting blade and the A clamp holds either your pen or scoring stylus.IMG_2424w  Just remember this simple trick, A = accessory, and b = blade.  These dual clamps allow the Cricut Explore Original to both cut and write (or score) in one step!  I have been very happy with my Explore since I got it last winter, it is very easy to use and has remarkable cut quality and precision.

Remember the differences: the Cricut Explore One has one clamp (for cutting only), and the Cricut Explore Air has two clamps and can do everything wirelessly.

If you are looking for an easy to use, simple electronic cutting machine, try out the Cricut Explore Air™ or if you are looking to wirelessly cut and  write or score check out the Cricut Explore One™.

Thanks for stopping by, and have a great day!

9 thoughts on “Getting to Know the Cricut Explore

Leave a comment